What if the (1968) Olympics had come to Detroit…?

It’s been far too long since I’ve done a post on my city. Granted, the main focus for me right now is the presidential election over and above everything else for obvious reasons. But today?  I just feel the need to do a little Detroit history.

This pair of videos was created as part of a presentation by then Mayor Jerome Cavanaugh to bring the 1968 Olympics to Detroit. Cavanaugh also narrates the presentation.

For Detroit history buffs, this is simply priceless. In a perverse sort of way it’s also pretty funny to see how hard he tried to put such a sweet face on this city that was on the verge of exploding into one of the nation’s ugliest race riots.

Enjoy.

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blog @ The “D” Spot Redeux and BlackLiberalBoomer

~ by Keith A. Owens on October 21, 2008.

5 Responses to “What if the (1968) Olympics had come to Detroit…?”

  1. Thanks for sharing. Never knew. Funny (or sad) that Mayor C spoke of diversity of cultures but they seemed to show more pictures of American Indians and Germans in Leider Hosen than African Americans! When did we start coming into Detroit 1966? Sad Sad Sad. Thanks Again

  2. […] [the D spot] var fbShare = {url: 'http://freerefillsamerica.com/2010/02/20/the-1968-detroit-olympics-video/',size:'large'} AKPC_IDS += "1351,"; […]

  3. detroit was going to be cool but it sucks now. why did all the white people leave?

  4. I have heard that Detroit almost won the bid for the 1968 Olympics. In fact, it was second only to the winner obviously, Mexico City, in voting. I am not sure if this is true or not, but I was still amazed.

  5. Redlining; that was a pivotal part of Detroit’s “New Planning with a Purpose”. Incentives for whites to build more bedroom communities like Royal Oak. My Dad moved out, I moved back in. The only way to save the city is to invest in it. I have invested. The high car insurance is worth the break the pitiful market has presented for a “buyer’s market.” Midtown is bringing younger families from the burbs back. Kwame’s gone; as long as the State (and Snyder’s white collar goons) doesn’t have to take over the city, I’m hopeful for a gradual growth. Detroit is a Pit Bull, representative of the owners. No more “opinions from the burbs”; get a pair, invest, move in and take it back! Thanks for the excellent video.

Leave a comment