Happy OSF! Songs that inspire me…

250px-detroitskyline.thumbnail

This one made me have to stop and think for a bit. You know how hard I tried to get some funk up in here, but then I said naw, lemme be good and do the thing right.

Besides, what could ever be more inspirational than Stevie Wonder’s Higher Ground?

And (just as a quick diversion) you gotta love what  the Red Hot Chili Peppers had to say about this…

But now getting back to the meat of the theme of inspiration, this song by Sly and the Family Stone is, to me, one of the greatest inspirational soul tunes of all time…

And then, I mean, you can’t even begin to talk about inspirational music without talkin’ ’bout Curtis Mayfield!

But before we go, check out what my man Jeff Beck had to say about Curtis’ tune…

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blog @ The “D” Spot Redeux

~ by Keith A. Owens on November 6, 2009.

8 Responses to “Happy OSF! Songs that inspire me…”

  1. All of your video choices are excellent. I hadn’t heard Sly’s ‘Stand’ before. I think that Stevie Wonder is a remarkable talent and his tune definitely inspires …. but, my fav of the ones you share with us today is Curtis Mayfield. People get ready…

    peace, Villager

  2. That was great fun. I loved the Mayfield, hadn’t heard it before.

  3. Excellent choices! So many greats! whatever happened to the Chili Peppers?

    • Thanks Regina!

      The Chili Peppers are still out there, but not near like they used to be. They were one of my favorite groups back when they were in their prime. “Blood, Sugar SEx Magic” was a great album.

      And yes, I did discover your new OSF site. Thanks!

  4. By the way, I don’t know if you have updated you links but my OSF has now moved to it’s own spot. Swing by if you get the chance!
    http://reginasoldschoolfridayspot.blogspot.com/

  5. I love Stevie! These are some great choices!

Leave a Reply

 
