Happy OSF! Oh for the love of Chaka Khan…

250px-detroitskyline.thumbnail

Chaka’s been a fantasy of mine ever since I knew what a fantasy really was. The voice on this sister would make an angel cry out of sheer embarrassment.

There’s so many songs of hers I love, and I definitely love her stuff w/ Rufus from back in my high school days (daze). Still, I got older the songs  that I’ve really come to love and appreciate the most are some of her less commercial, less well-known material that allowed her to show just how gifted a vocalist she really was.

This selection of hers singing one of my all time favorite jazz ballads, “My Funny Valentine”, I think really shows her off in ways much of her commercial releases simply couldn’t do.

Oh for the love of Chaka…

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blog @ The “D” Spot Redeux

~ by Keith A. Owens on August 7, 2009.

3 Responses to “Happy OSF! Oh for the love of Chaka Khan…”

  1. Nice pick, but then any pick is a good one if Chaka is singing it.

  2. I see a few OSF’ers chose this one. A great pick that did not even occur to me! Thanks for the pick and happy OSF!

  3. Chaka recorded a few jazz vocals, this one being a little more known but as usual, you come up with a great angle on the theme. She is a very well-rounded entertainer and one of the greatest of all time for sure.

Leave a Reply

 
