OSF: Songs my mother never knew about…

250px-detroitskylinethumbnail2

If my mother only knew I was listening to this song as a kid growing up…?

Well let’s just say we wouldn’t be having this conversation right now….

I bring you Funkadelic singing “I Call My Baby Pussycat,” which they later abbreviated to “I Call My Baby….”well, you know…

By the way, I do know I’ve been kinda MIA the last few weeks. Apologies, y’all. Combination of bein’ crazy busy (like I’m the only one) and just trying to get a focus on what else out there gets me riled up enough to blow…

Anyway, Happy OSF! And I’ll be back in gear soon.

~ by Keith A. Owens on April 10, 2009.

9 Responses to “OSF: Songs my mother never knew about…”

  1. This song title is a true story (nickname of course). My wife is related to George Clinton. If you are familiar with the music of the Funkadelics, this however does not shock you. Welcome back. A lot of us have been mad-crazy with other things lately, including myself. Happy OSF.

    • Hey Rev!

      Get outta here!! Your wife is related to George Clinton for real? Wow. I’ve been a true fan/follower of Parliament Funkadelic for at least 35 years. For me, Motown and all that was fine and I appreciate it, but Funkadelic has always been where it was at. Them and Jimi and Sly and all that good stuff.

      But Something about Funkadelic just always grabbed me by the gut, man.

      And thanks for the welcome back!

  2. Oh I’m really shocked! A Funkadelic cut I don’t remember and learning that Rev and George Clinton are in-laws! Oh my!

    Good to see you back!

  3. I don’t think I have ever heard this one before…but it is true George Clinton-esque funk! Made me giggle…

  4. Wow! A family connection, very cool!
    Have a great weekend!

  5. Hmm…the Rev is related to George Clinton, huh? Now that is a family reunion I want to be in attendance at…LOL!

  6. Yeah, Prince grew up as a big funk fan too, and look where it got him. LOL. My old boyfriend (nearly 30 years ago) was a Parliament fan, more so than I was, and now I’m thinking, “Hmm. Why didn’t I think about what that meant before now.” He had a goody two shoes facade but was still waters. Enjoyed your choice. Our mothers never want to believe we’re grown, do they? Happy OSF!

  7. Happy OSF! I never heard this cut before. Thanx for sharing!

    I’m certain that I would never want my mama to hear, see or associate 2 Live Crew with her saintly son!

    peace, Villager

  8. This title cracked me up. I’ve never heard this song. I enjoyed it. Happy OSF.

Leave a Reply

 
