Happy OSF Baby!

250px-detroitskylinethumbnail4

Songs with “baby” in the title, eh? Well all right then…

Think I’ll start off goin way, way back with a little Lightnin’ Hopkins

Then movin on up to one of the hottest baby songs ever. And I sure hope it doesn’t get yanked before you get to check out Prince’s “Do Me Baby”. God knows how many babies were made offa this hit…

And now for the grand finale, and just ’cause I’m in one a dem mischievous masochistic type moods…

I bring you…VANILLA ICE BABY!

You know you loves you some Ice boyee…

~ by Keith A. Owens on March 20, 2009.

8 Responses to “Happy OSF Baby!”

  1. Okay, you cracked me up with Vanilla Ice. Haven’t heard that one in ages. Actually listened to Prince’s Do Me Baby tonight while I was making up my mind for my own selections (and considered that it might get yanked off YouTube), but I’m gonna pick Lightnin’ tonight as my favorite of your three. Had to. He’s begging his baby not to go back to my hometown. 🙂 Happy OSF!

  2. I know all of these. Lightnin’ was a baad dude. You bring a unique perspective and special insight. Happy OSF.

  3. Happy OSF! Vanilla Ice made me laugh. I hope he invested his money well. Of your three seletions, my favorite is Prince. Do Me Baby is a song that got right to the point for all of us back in the day…

    The OSF theme this week is ‘Baby’. Prince, Luther and Marvin were all possible choices. However, I invite your blog readers to check out my selection — Smokey Robinson!

    peace, Villager

  4. I’m glad to see you have a sense of humor with Vanilla Ice, I wanted to do Baby Got Back, but I chickened out…

    That Do Me song by Prince, I just don’t have the words.

    The originals are always better than the remakes: “Baby, Please Don’t Go

  5. Great picks… uh, the first 2! You are dead wrong for the Vanilla Ice pick!

  6. It’s the first time I’ve ever seen an image of Lightin Hopkins who my uncle would do a poor imitation of when I was a kid. (Imitation is supposed to be a form of flattery, uncle couldn’t sing and would be drunk as a skunk singing at the top of his lungs!)

    I know I’m not the only person who knows all of “Ice Ice Baby” – lol. My younger brother stepped to this in his college sophomore year and I tease him to this day.

    Prince: words cannot begin to describe. Just imagine a middle aged woman turning back the hands of time – I become a screaming teenaged girl. I will not see him live because I will not embarass myself in public.

  7. Ice Ice Baby! Too Cold Too Cold! How funny and wha a surprise! These are all great choices – but, the Vanilla Ice one….who’d a thunk it! lol!

  8. Oh you just ain’t right with that Vanilla Ice!

    @ Hagar’s Daughter – I saw Prince live once…it was not a pretty thing…embarassment is not even near the word I would use for myself.

    Happy OSF!

Leave a Reply

 
