Happy OSF and the Jackson Family

250px-detroitskylinethumbnail7

Straight up and out the gate lemme say that I have always been much more of a Janet Jackson fan that a Michael Jackson fan. Not just because the girl is ridiculously gorgeous (fine as cat hair as one of my buddies used to say), but to me her songs are much more funky and therefore much more to my liking. Michael is a performance genius without a doubt. Regardless of all the recent and not-so-recent perversions swirling around the man’s head like a swarm of locusts, you still have to give credit where credit is due. And Michael has earned his props. Without Michael there would have been no Janet.

I confess and admit all of that. And all of which is to explain and preface why my choices for this selection are gonna be ’bout Janet.

And this one is on and poppin’..

And one of my all time favorites…

And to wrap it up why not have Michael and l’il sis together in “Scream”?

~ by Keith A. Owens on February 20, 2009.

11 Responses to “Happy OSF and the Jackson Family”

  1. Janet is definitely #1 in my book is well and I chose her too! I can’t say nothing but Amen brother.

  2. I remember “Scream” and saw it as not only a message they were sending about their treatment in the media but also a declaration of their right to break the mold. Rhythm Nation is one of my favorite Janet videos, but I used a different Janet video in my OSF post today. Looking at Love Will Never Do, I’m chuckling–“And now, in the role of arm candy, Antonio Sabato, Jr.” Enjoyed the visit.

    And thanks for your comment on the Republican party claiming to go Hip Hop.

    • Hey Verite,
      That’s an interesting take on the meaning of “Scream”. I hadn’t thought of it that way, but it does make sense. A lot of sense.
      As for the Republican Party comment, glad to do it. Enjoyed the post.

  3. I absolutely loved Scream…the two most talented Jacksons…on the same tune…WHAT?!

    And I have to agree with your point about Janet, although props will always be due to MJ…it’s almost like I listened to Mike because I had to. But eventually I jumped off the train (he will always be revered though).

    Happy OSF!

  4. I am a big fan of JJ myself. She really is a talented entertainer. I’m glad to see that someone else selected her for OSF as their choice.

  5. Not really a JJ fan, but these are some really good choices for JJ. Love SCREAM – cause sometimes you just got to!

  6. Great picks!
    I also prefer Janet to Big brother Mike!
    I think her evolution was more powerful and made more sense.

Leave a Reply

 
