Happy OSF! It’s the blues, baby!

250px-detroitskylinethumbnail3

Oh yeah, I am feelin’ this. I confess I couldn’t quite get with New Edition too much which is why I was absent last week. I tried, I did…but…

Well, we all have the music we love and the music not quite so much…

Also, I had a death in the family so I had to step away for awhile. My father-in-law, who was a remarkable individual, died at the age of 88 at his home. My wife and I were there. I truly loved that man.

Don’t wanna dwell on that.

But the blues??? Oh yeah. I’ve been a working blues musician for more than 20 years, y’all, so this is most definitely a heartfelt love of mine. In fact, Jimi Hendrix, perhaps one of the greatest blues players ever, was the reason I picked up a guitar.

Anyway, as any true blues fan knows, there’s just no way you can talk about the blues without going through Riley B. King, otherwise known as BB (Blues Boy) King, the Mississippi-born King of the Blues who has probably done more than any other blues musician to take the case of the blues worldwide and to keep its flame hot. BB is the blues as you will see here in an early take…

Yet another great ‘King’ of the blues was the late Albert King singing one of his more well-known pieces, “Born Under a Bad Sign”. This brother was truly a force.

And completing the triumvirate of the blues ‘Kings’ was the late great Freddie King, singing his well-known hit (frerquently covered by numerous rock bands) “I’m Goin’ Down’. Freddie was so damned powerful on guitar…

And then of course there was the great ‘Iceman’, otherwise known as Albert Collins. And speaking of “Iceman,” how about listening in on the song itself?

Albert Collins and Albert King influenced so many blues players of later generations, most of them white. One of the most well-known had to be the late great Stevie Ray Vaughn. Check him out here playing “The Sky is Crying”…

But before Stevie came one who was perhaps as bad as Stevie. No, not Eric Clapton. Clapton was damned good, but JohnnyWinter…? That wild albino from Texas. But then Albert Collins was from Texas too. Damn, so was Stevie Ray. Freddie King too. But y’all gotta check out my boy Johnny playin’ “Highway 61”..

And by now I’m guessing you know I could do this all night, right? Right. So I’ll wrap this up with my main man Jimi Hendrix playing “Voodoo Chile”. Play on Jimi…

~ by Keith A. Owens on February 13, 2009.

21 Responses to “Happy OSF! It’s the blues, baby!”

  1. You gave us a great smorgasbord to feast on for the weekend. Great choices and you know your music! Happy OSF!

  2. My condolences to you and yours on the loss of your family member.

    I think “The Thrill Is Gone” is one of those blues tracks that will forever be in the back of everyone’s mind. And Stevie Ray Vaughn? That man can sure make a guitar wail.

    Happy OSF.

    • Thaconoisseur!

      Great to have you up in the place.

      Yeah, Thrill is Gone is definitely one of those forever songs without a doubt. Not just a blues classic but an American music classic.

      And Stevie Ray..? That was one baaaad mutha shut yo mouth…

  3. What! You couldn’t get into New Edition. 🙂

    Truly you are a blues man who knows your blues. I enjoyed all your choices.

    And I too am sorry to hear about the death of your father-in-law. My mom passed in November. It takes a while to snap back.

    Thanks for including Jimi Hendrix.

    • Hey Verite!

      Thanks so much for stopping by, and I’m glad you dug Jimi! Jimi is the one single reason why I’m a musician today. He is my musical hero over and above all the others without question. And the blues? Yeah, I do love that music. Really do.

      Thnks much for the kind condolences. That’s much appreciated.

  4. I realized when everyone skipped out last week, that they were not as enthusiastic about New Edition as I am, but I see we fond your passion, and now I don’t know where to start…

    When I was surfing youtube, I saw some clips of Jimi playing some old blues songs, which was fascinating because I always associates Jimi with Rock…

    I think B.B. King won this theme hands down, Albert King was played in my momma’s house. I use to think he was BB Kings brother because of the last name…Texas has a strong blues following, but I was more on the soul side, but since I am a Texan I’m familiar with Johnny Winter, just not a big fan.

    • Hey there Grapevine!

      Glad you understand about me and New Edition. I really didn’t qwant you guys to take it personal ’cause you always do such a great job with this OSF thing. It’s just great. Different strokes is all.
      As for the choices, I’m glad you liked it. And yeah, Texas most definitely is the Land of Giants when it comes to the blues, right up there with Mississippi.

  5. Great choices, and I’m glad you like this week’s theme. You brought something extra to the table…

  6. Happy OSF! You definitely made up for missing last week. I hadn’t heard most of your selections before. I enjoyed all of them. I also want to take a moment to share my conodolences to you & Lady P on the loss of her father.

    If the theme this week is the ‘blues’, then your blog readers should settle for nothing less than Mo’ Better Blues!

    peace, Villager

    • Hey Villager.

      Yeah man, I felt I had to come strong this week to compensate, y’know? Glad you enjoyed.
      And thanks so much for your condolences. That means a lot.

  7. I love how you tied in all the Kings. 🙂 You went in on this post the way I would (and have) on a Prince post. 😉

  8. WOW!! I guess you really are feeling this theme!

  9. We all have those that we hold close to our hearts (music-wise)…I totally understand about NE…not everyone loves them as much as some of us do!

    But this right here?! OH Brother! I think we have touched your spot, so to speak! My family is from Louisiana, so I feel like blues is a part of me…I love to hear a guitar, and those grimy lyrics that grab you by the throat and shout the truth at your face with no apologies…good stuff!

    My condolences to you and your family on your loss…God bless!

    • Hey Marvalus!

      No doubt this week’s theme hit my spot like a hammer. I love lots of different kinds of music, but the blues has an extra special appeal to me. I just love it. And you’re from Louisiana? Louis Armstrong territory? Oh yeah I KNOW you got the blues stirring in you!
      And thanks so much for your condolences…

  10. One of the great things about OSF is when folks share their love and knowledge with us.

    I have enjoyed all of your selections. What a blues feast this has been!

  11. OMG!!! You did it UP on this OSF. What a tribute to the Blues! Great – magnificent – choices!

    Bravo! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

 
