Happy OSF! This is definitely too hot for radio…

Remember The Last Poets?  If you do, then I don’t need to say another thing. Too hot for radio?

Oh. Hell. Yeah.

…and then of course we’ve got Gil Scott Heron. Too hot for radio?

Oh. Hell. Yeah.

Too hot. Too black. Too strong.

Shameless Plug: Read my wife’s blogs @ The “D” Spot Redeux and BlackLiberalBoomer

~ by Keith A. Owens on January 23, 2009.

11 Responses to “Happy OSF! This is definitely too hot for radio…”

  1. Oh you went there! You really went there! I love it! And sho nuff not ready for AM/FM stations. Your picks really take me back!

  2. Happy America & OSF! I’m smilin’ big time. When I first started doing OSF we didn’t have the weekly theme. I was able to post the Last Poets and GSH to my hearts desire. And today when the theme was perfect for them … I didn’t even think of either choice. Anyhow, both of your choices were excellent. I hadn’t heard the GSH choice before today…

    I invite your blog readers to check out my tribute to The Jones Girls. They didn’t get much radio play back in the day. Do you remember them?

    peace, Villager

    • Villager!

      Yeah, the Poets were truly a wake-up act. It wouldn’t even be right to call them entertainers or even just poets because they were more than that. I remember the first time I heard them I was totally blown out. I was just a kid and had never heard anything like that ever.

      As for Gil, he was one of my musical herowes throughout my more militant college years. Used to have a college radio show and would open and close the show with “The Revolution Will Not be Televised”.

  3. I love Gill Scott Heron. not only is he to hot for radio but too deep for mainstream America!

  4. I think you just slapped me with the real sh** over here! Like SjP said, you went there!

    I admit, I wasn’t ready…hee hee hee…

  5. Where is Masai K Kenyatta ,WCHB.

  6. check out 1markt’s blog at wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
