Woke up this morning and dreamed America had a black president

250px-detroitskylinethumbnail10

Woke up this morning and I thought I was dreaming. Turned on the TV and they said we had a black President of the United States. Yeah, right. That’s what I said. And not only that, but it said his name was Barack Hussein Obama and that his mother was a white woman from Kansas. Daddy was from Africa.

So that’s when I went back to sleep. In my dream I saw where some white guy had won the presidency, and I relaxed because I knew I was back in my right mind and America was America was America. I made up my mind that even though I was aware this was a dream, it was more believable than what I’d see when I was awake so I preferred to just stay sleep.

Woke up this morning (again) and had that same dream about this Barack Hussein Obama guy. This time I turned off the TV, got out of bed, went to the bathroom and splashed several handfuls of cold water on my face. Brushed my teeth. Gargled. Took a long, hard look at myself in the mirror. Noticed my eyes were kinda bloodshot, and right away I felt better. Because that’s when I figured out I must have gone out drinking last night. I don’t remember anything about it, but then that’s kinda what happens when you drink a bit too much. Strange thing is, up until that drinking binge I can’t remember from last night, I haven’t gotten drunk in nearly 30 years. And I’ve never blacked out.

First time for everything, I guess. Because either I got drunk and blacked out or I woke up this morning in my right mind and there is a black man who is now the popularly elected leader of the most powerful nation on earth. Right now I’m betting on the drunken stupor because I know damned well this country did not elect a black man as president when a perfectly good white man was available for duty. That kinda thing just doesn’t happen here. Because here in America we all know our place, and we all have come to accept that things work best when we just don’t reach too far or dream too big because that’s when, well, that’s when you start waking up with these really strange kinda dreams that you can’t explain. The kinda dreams that won’t let you go back to sleep.

So anyway I woke up yet again this morning and you’re not gonna believe…

Woke up this mornin' and you would not believe...

Woke up this mornin' and you would not believe...

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blogs @ The “D” Spot Redeux and BlackLiberalBoomer.

~ by Keith A. Owens on January 20, 2009.

10 Responses to “Woke up this morning and dreamed America had a black president”

  1. I’ve been having the same dream…
    I invite you to read my reflections on the inauguration, written from the perspective of a White person who grew up in segregated Texas: Thoughts of Water on the Eve of Obama’s Inauguration.

    • Onscrn,

      I just finished reading your “Thoughts” and I thought that was an excellent piece. Very well written and thought out. I’ll look forward to seeing more of your stuff, and thanks so much fotr stopping by the “D”.

  2. Now this is really weird cause I woke up this morning after having the exact same dream!

  3. […] Woke up this morning, and dreamed America had a Black president…The ‘D’ Spot […]

  4. Dang something must be in the water cause were all having the same dream.

  5. It must be one of those recurring dreams…I think someone said that it may last for 4 to 8 years!

  6. On the flip side Amerika must be f— up ; if it’ true.On the real side to paraphrase Sam Cooke “A change is gonna come”

Leave a Reply

 
