Happy OSF! I bring you (naturally) da funk…

Y’all knew this is where I was goin’ don’t you? I mean y’all knew.


Yeah, I admit it. I am a funkateer, and one of my favorite funk/rock tunes of all time is Funkadelic’s “Cosmic Slop”. Brought to you here live, courtesy of your host Kidd Funkadelic, who graduated high school in 1976. A banner year for the funk, I might add.

Groove on, people. Groove on…

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blogs @ The “D” Spot Redeux and BlackLiberalBoomer.

…and then there’s…

Oh, and while we’re on the subject, Let’s take it to the stage. Laughin’ atcha. Funk used to be a baaaaaad word…

OK, moving right along chillun. Y’all hip to The Undisputed Truth? The “Boogie Bump Boogie”? Git on down, chillun…

And finally, to close us out, and since y’all been so good. SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT.

Well. Kinda…

Remember Wild Cherry???

~ by Keith A. Owens on January 9, 2009.

14 Responses to “Happy OSF! I bring you (naturally) da funk…”

  1. I know they say rap music is bad, but I bet parents just didn’t understand funk music. I had the honor of meeting George Clinton and having my hand licked by him. I even went on the tour bus, but I didn’t stay to party. In fact I was scared. That was in 1999, and he was still kicking it hard. So I can’t even imagine how much fun you had listening to funk, probably the same amount I had listening to hip-hop. I still don’t quite understand it all. The only person we have like that today is Andre 3000 of Outkast.

    “Little Miss Muffet” did what? This is like listening to rap lyrics…

    Wild Cherry: White people love that song.

    • Mrs. Grapevine,

      You had your hand LICKED by Sir George…? Now that takes the cake right there. No wonder you were scared to party with the P-Funk crew! And for the record, I do know some folks who partied with the mob, and the stories they tell…? Hell, I’d be scared too.

      But I do love the music they made. Also love Andre 3000 who, I think you’re right, does share a musical lineage connection with Clinton and the boyz.

  2. Do you have the lil hat with the ears too? Say what? Oh, you said you are a “funkateer.” My bad. LOL

    You know you brought da funk this OSF, you do know this right!?! This was bad and I do mean good – I can dig it. I was only 10 years old so I had to listen to this without my parents knowing it because I would have been in deep trouble.

    I like that Wild Cherry cut. Remember Average White Band – sure you do, what am I thinking.

    Have a great weekend.

  3. A lot of good music from the 70’s but i must admit I am so so on Funk.

    It’s hit or miss with me.

  4. I was never a fan of the Funk but those costumes ROCK!

    • Regina,

      Oh heck YEAH. Couldn’t NOBODY beat the P-Funk mob when it came to the costume department. Not to mention stage props like the flying saucer, or the huge apple hat with the eyeballs attached…or…

  5. I know exactly where you are coming from D! I got the funk too and I’m a fellow funkateer. Still have all of the jams. Love George Clinton and the Funkadelic. Great picks! I had forgotten about Wild Cherry. Thanks for bringing them back to my remembrance. Happy OSF!

  6. OH YEAH! I knew what I would be getting over here…I almost saved you for last so I could sit back and just let the funk take over…

    Happy New Year Keith!!!

  7. A man after my own heart and certainly during my era! Love it! I do love the FUNK! I can sho ’nuff relate to that 70s funk!

Leave a Reply

 
