Detroit Lions the absolute last thing Detroit needs

250px-detroitskylinethumbnail1

I’m not what you would call a football fanatic. I like to watch a good game now and then, when I have the time. Sometimes I even manage to really get into it, like when my hometown team the Denver Broncos won the Superbowl. That was about ten years ago. I admit I was pretty ecstatic about that one. My mother, who was in her late 70s at the time, was practically moonwalking. Hate to admit it, but my elderly mother knows a whole lot more about football than I do.

But moving right along, we’re now in…what is this…2009? Right? So now I live in Detroit, where I have lived for the past 16 years of my life. I am one of those who will always love the city, regardless. But as those of us who love this city in that warts-and-all fashion know all too well, Detroit is sort of like an abusive boyfriend or girlfriend with an incurable multiple personality disorder. You never quite know who you’re gonna wake up to in the morning, but you’re in love, you believe you understand what the problem is, and you’ve developed your own way of dealing with the neuroses.

All of which is to say that I can’t even begin to imagine a worse time for Detroit to be burdened with the 0-16 Detroit Lions. This, the same year the Big Three are dancing on the edge of collapse with a choke hold around the city’s neck. The same year that former Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick is still in jail, the year we could wind up with two more mayors between now and November. The year after yet another school board superintendent has been fired and the DPS budget is so many hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt I can’t afford to spell it out.

I mean damn.

So anyway I saw this interesting little video about the Detroit Lions on YouTube that seems to have a pretty good amateur analysis of the situation.  May even be better than amateur. Honestly I’m not that qualified to say because I just couldn’t make myself watch that sort of destruction for a string of three-hour blocks at a time throughout an entire season. I’m just not a masochist like that. But take a look, because it really is pretty well done and interesting.

Oh. And Happy New Year dammit.

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blogs @ The “D” Spot Redeux and BlackLiberalBoomer

~ by Keith A. Owens on January 6, 2009.

9 Responses to “Detroit Lions the absolute last thing Detroit needs”

  1. That franchise is cursed.

  2. I got tired of waiting for a repeat of the 1957 championship in 1970 and abandoned Detroit for the Steelers. Great move if I say so myself! Happy New Year D!

  3. […] Happy New Year, Damnit!…[The ‘D’ Spot] […]

  4. GO lions, GO detroit ,2009 is our year, you just wait and see

    • Hey Tootsie!

      I hear ya, man. Gotta keep hope alive, right. Believe me, I’m tryin’ my best. And I’m stayin’ right here with the rest of the die-hards true believers.

  5. Yesh … I imagine that most of us that have love for Detroit are glad to close the book on 2008.

  6. Too true, Villager. Too true…

Leave a Reply

 
