Happy OSF! Jimi Hendrix and the Band of Gypsies

Favorite band? Not even a contest.

Ever since I was 12 my favorite musician of all time has been Jimi Hendrix. Like so many thousands of young kids from that era, he’s the whole reason I picked up a guitar. Although my list of influences has broadened greatly since that day neearly forty years ago when my cousin Rowena first intrduced me to Jimi’s “Smash Hits”, no one musician has ever meant more to me than this brother.

And his “Band of Gypsies” album, recorded live at the Fillmore East, is, in my opinion, possibly his best recorded live performance ever. And I’ve heard just about every one that’s ever been recorded that you can find – black market or otherwise. Although he was great with Mitch Mitchell and Noel Redding (The Experience), the combination of Hendrix with Buddy Miles on drums and Billy Cox on bass was the next step in rock music evolution. And the fact that it was ushered in by three brothers makes it all that more meaningful.

And “Machine Gun”…? Well, check it out for yourself.

Enjoy.

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blogs @ The “D” Spot Redeux and BlackLiberalBoomer.

~ by Keith A. Owens on December 12, 2008.

7 Responses to “Happy OSF! Jimi Hendrix and the Band of Gypsies”

  1. Arguably THE top musician of his day and maybe of all time.

  2. Often imitated, but never duplicated. Now ‘scuse while I kiss the sky!
    Somehow I knew you would feature Jimi. Happy OSF.

  3. I have to admit I was expecting some Parliament over here…but the Jimi will do just fine, thank you…

    Oh, this is so good!

  4. Damned good choice!

    I’m mad that you only gave us one video. 🙂

  5. Great pick, Jimi was the man.

  6. Revvy Rev,
    My thoughts exactly!

    Hagar,
    Guess I kinda telegraphed that one, eh?

    Marvalus,
    It’s definitely a close call, no doubt. P-Funk is without a doubt number two on my list. Glad you like!

    Shae,
    Oh I can can bring more!

    Mike,
    Thanks much.

  7. Oh Yeah! Now I do love Jimi and especially this cut!

Leave a Reply

 
