Happy OSF! Great songs from the year 19….. I ain’t tellin’

Oh, so you thought if I agreed to list a few songs that were written in the year of my birth that I’d automatically tell you how old I am?

Oh HELL naw. You better get up earlier than that to trap the kidd.

But if it’s really killing you and you’re one of those research nut types, then hey. Knock yourself out. Here’s the song. You guess the years.

The next one? Nat King Cole.

Nat. King. Cole.

Ain’t nuttin’ else to say, y’all.

And Peggy Lee? Man, man, man. This woman could sang, folks. And “Fever” was a classic.

And just for fun? Check out Beyonce’s version. Sis knows which tunes to reach back for, and you gotta respect someone who’s done their homework like this.

DAMN I was born in a good year…

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blogs @ The “D” Spot Redeux and BlackLIberalBoomer.

~ by Keith A. Owens on November 14, 2008.

12 Responses to “Happy OSF! Great songs from the year 19….. I ain’t tellin’”

  1. I’m not researching jack, I’m too busy listening to the tunes. You weren’t playing with these picks.

  2. I ain’t going to expose you. But you know I know! Little Anthony and the Imperials – about a year after the desegregation of Little Rock Central High…. I was baptized in these Great Picks!

  3. Fever is one of my faves. I don’t love what B did with it, although she looks great doing it! Happy OSF!

  4. Very good choices. It didn’t take a lot of research for me to figure out that you were born in 19… don’t worry, I won’t tell.

  5. Lol, your secret is safe with me.

    Happy OSF.

  6. Shae,
    Glad you’re likin’ the tunes! Yep, I had me some fun pickin’ ’em out.

    Revvy Rev,
    My brother! KNew I could count on you.

    Vivrant,
    I hear you on Beyonce, though I give sis a l’il more slack, even though I’ve never been a serious Beyonce fan overall. But still, when you put Beyo9nce’s version next to the tried and true original? Oh no doubt. There is no comparison.

    Malcolm,

    Careful!

    Mike,

    Much obliged, much obliged.

  7. I don’t need to know that bad…I’m not that curious! 🙂

    Great choices!

  8. I know! I know! I know! But, I won’t tell! All I got to say is Ed Sullivan! Watched them all doing these songs. Little Anthony, Nat, and Peggy! Oh Yeah! Love Peggy! Hell, love them all!

    OAN, I been blogging for almost a year now, and I thought until today that I had to be the oldest

  9. Great picks! I was feeling you until the Beyonce cut. Some classics should be left alone…

  10. Well, my brother I went there…did the research and then used the calculator just to make sure – LOL! Great choices.

    I’ve posted a day late because I was on vacation. I didn’t want to be left out of the fun. And I promise to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but…

  11. not going to research this, but it “feels” like nineteen-fifty-something (and it would be a late “something” at that)… you’re around the same age as my brothers, i’m sure. so i’ll just say, HAPPY 5?th BIRTHDAY!!! *smile*

  12. Marvalus,
    You’re right. It ain’t that deep, is it? Glad you liked the tunes!

    Sojourner,
    Looks like you and me holdin’ down the old folks home, eh? But that’s cool. ‘Cause we be jammin in those wheelchairs!

    Regina,

    You know, I think you’re the second person to express that about Beyonce, and you just may be right. I’ve never been a huge Beyonce fan to begin with, but I saw the YouTube and figured I ‘d toss it in the mix for variety. But you’re right, some classics deserve to be preserved just as they are.

    Hagar,
    You can always tell the Inquiring Minds in the group, y’know? Even had you breakin’ out de CALCULATOR. Aw well. So long as you and everyone else with a calculator can keep a secret, right?

    Plez,

    OK detective, you got the 1950-something right. You been doin your due diligence so I’ll give you that much. But it ends there, pal.

Leave a Reply

 
