Happy OSF! Thank God the election’s over…

250px-detroitskylinethumbnail2

And I can’t imagine a more appropriate theme for this week, y’all. Serious. Thrilled as I am about the outcome, I am so glad this thing is finally over. Matter of fact, all I can say is…

Well, just click on my man Bootsy and I think you’ll get the drift…

But wait a minute, I’m feelin’ even better than that. Lemme throw in a little Victor Wooten just for the pure funk of it…

~ by Keith A. Owens on November 7, 2008.

9 Responses to “Happy OSF! Thank God the election’s over…”

  1. OUTSTANDING PICK!!! I love it.

  2. Bootsy man taking a long time to load. Oh there we go. My first thought was the “Double Dutch Bus” but I changed to something political. I’m feeling the Bootsy. I need a little funkiness.

    School me, who Victor Wooten?

  3. Awww yeah! I knew I could count on you to FUNK IT UP!!!

  4. Nice picks a little more funk, nice for a Friday night.

  5. Happy OSF! Must admit that I don’t remember the large sistas with Bootsy in the past. Anyhow, great selections. I hand’t heard of Victor Wooten before…

    ‘Thank God It’s Over’ is the theme. I invite your blog readers to check out ‘Right Now (We Need One Another’ if they have time or inclinaton. This song had its debut earlier this week on Oprah. Come check it out!

    peace, Villager

  6. I was never a big fan but it is an energetic pick!

  7. Revvy Rev,

    Glad you liked it! Bootsy’s my man.

    Grapevine,

    Victor Wooten is one of those brothers who’s known more by musicians and bass fans than the general music-loving public, so I’m not surprised you aren’t familiar with him. But he is arguably one of the top funk/jazz/fusion bass players in the country right now. I’m willing to bet you’ve heard of Stanley Clark, right? Yeah, well even Stanley stands back to give Victor room when he’s on fire.

    Marvalus,

    Now you know I wouldn’t let you down, partner!

    Cooper,

    Thanks!

    Villager,

    Yeah, about those heavy duty sisters, I don’t think they were ever a part of his regular entourage. This recording, I believe, was on the Letterman Show or one of those late night shows and this was a one-time line-up. That’s why you’ve got the late Hiram Bullock over there on guitar. And Dave Kos on sax.

    Regina,

    Hey that’s OK! We’re still friends!

  8. Victor Wooten, that was a good choice, I didnt even think about him.

  9. i just hope the red states
    dont desire to return to the history pre 1960

Leave a Reply

 
