Happy OSF: Yep, it really is Willie Nelson folks!

For those of you who have been even semi-faithfully checking out my Old School Friday posts for the past couple months that the ‘spot’ has been back up and running, y’all know I am a true funkateer. But folks? That’s only part of the rhythm and rhymes that makes up this here Kidd Funkadelic. Because, after all, what fun is it to be predictable, right?

Sometimes a cat gets the urge to bark.

So I figure it’s the perfect time to throw a curve ball like y’all wouldn’t never predict. You say the theme is road trip songs? Well I got a road trip song for ya. Oh yeah. Matter of fact, when my mother and I went on a cross country road trip together more than 20 years ago from Southern California all the way up the coast through San Francisco and on into Vancouver Canada for Expo ’86, then back down through Seattle and all the way to my original hometown of Denver, Colorado where I dropped Mom off before continuing to drive all the way back up North to Ann Arbor, Michigan for my first newspaper job at the Ann Arbor News (yeah I know it’s a run-on sentence so get over it and breathe)?

Well THIS is the song we sang over and over again inside that little red Mitsubishi Mirage. That is, when we weren’t cracking up laughing, not able to believe this was the song we were actually singing. My mother is a lotta fun, man.

Anyway, without further ado, I bring you one of the coolest country cats I know, and about as Old School as it gets; Mr. Willie Nelson singing his classic, “On the Road Again.”

Y’all come back now, y’hear?

SHAMELESS PLUG” Read my wife’s blog @ thedspotredeux.blogspot.com

~ by Keith A. Owens on September 19, 2008.

9 Responses to “Happy OSF: Yep, it really is Willie Nelson folks!”

  1. The video is no longer available. I was looking forward to hearing Willie sing. I think Country music is cool – you know, the blues with a twang.
    Happy OSF.

  2. Hey Hagar,

    Thanks for the heads-up. The one up there now is a replacement, and it’s just as good. Happy OSF!

  3. LOL Nice pick. It definitely embodies the theme. Happy OSF!

  4. LOL! Interesting pick!
    Have a great weekend!

  5. I can’t even be mad at you, Keith…who hasn’t heard this song in the car and sung along? I would dare someone to say they don’t know the words!

    Happy OSF!

  6. Good Old Willie. A great sing-along road song.

  7. Ha! Noice. Truth be told, there’s a couple old school country cats that I dig. I’m not ashamed.

    And yeah, Marvalus One is right. Find me anyone that doesn’t know the words to that song. LOL!

  8. Famous Willie Nelson quote”I want to run out of breath and money at the same time”

  9. Tootsie,

    That is a great quote, and one I think I need to memorize.

    Marvalus,

    I feel much better now! You know it ain’t easy for a brother to stick his neck out like that sometimes, so I’m lovin the support.

Leave a Reply

 
