Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick’s resignation appears imminent

To be honest? I’d prefer to be writing about just about anything else right now. The secret life of Appalachian snowballs. The courting habits of algae. The deep, hidden spiritual meaning of grass.

Anything. Because I want this thing over and fading rapidly in my rear view mirror. I want to go to sleep and wake up to whatever the hell is coming next.

But here in Detroit? Right now? The only story, and I do mean the ONLY story, is the all-but-sure resignation of Mayor Kilpatrick, which may have already happened by the time you read this article. Then again maybe not. Last report was that it was going down at 5:15 today (Weds.), but then the word came down that it should be coming at 9 a.m. tomorrow morning. First we heard there was a plea deal, then we heard there was no deal. So who knows.

Right now the best place to be for by-the-minute updates is actually the Detroit Free Press online. I have to say that their coverage has been all over this thing, like white on rice as my mother used to say.

I could speculate and whatever else to fill space, but what sense does that make? I’d rather wait until this thing is wrapped up. Stay tuned…

SHAMELESS PLUG: Read my wife’s blog @ http://thedspotredeux.blogspot.com

~ by Keith A. Owens on September 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
