Happy OSF: Meet Bilal

You know, I started to go with one of the standard choices for favorite male vocalist like Peabo Bryson or Marvin Gaye or Stevie Wonder or Philip Bailey. I mean, this being favorite male vocalists, these cats are definitely perched on the top.

Because then I remembered this young brother I saw perform here in Detroit about a month ago at Chene Park as an opening act for Jill Scott.  Name was Bilal. And I know, I know, this is OLD SCHOOL Friday. I apologize. Seriously. But hey, the guy IS singing Ray Charles’ “Georgia on My Mind,” so how Old School is that? Right? Right?

I’ll say right up front that I searched and searched for a YouTube that did him justice and it was hard. This one comes closest, but if you get the chance to see Bilal live?

Do. Not. Miss. That. Chance.

This brother does things with his voice that should be illegal in all 50 states. Needs to be heard to be believed. I became an overnight convert.

Enjoy. And search.

~ by Keith A. Owens on August 22, 2008.

5 Responses to “Happy OSF: Meet Bilal”

  1. Where is Bilal anyway? He dropped his album and just disappeared from radio. His voice is amazing.

  2. Happy OSF! I never heard the brotha before. I appreciate the tip. I do miss those Chene Park concerts…

    Thank you for visiting my effort to comply with the Favorite Male Crooner theme. I invite your blog readers to check out Luther Vandross if they have time or inclinaton.

    peace, Villager

  3. I love Bilal! Especially when he sings “Soul Sista” (which is in my mp3 rotation)!
    Have a great weekeend!

  4. Another introduction for me. He has a great voice for a great song.

    Light and Love all the day Long.

    Danielle
    Modern Musings’ OSF 10

  5. Shae Shae,

    I really couldn’t tell you. When I saw him at Chene Park here in Detroit last month, that was my first introduction to him. Had never heard of him before. But I’ll definitely be on the lookout from now on.

    Villager,

    Ain’t he bad? And yeah, Chene Park is wonderful. Now if they could just work on that sound system…

    Regina,

    Now I see why you love him! The brother is phenomenal. That voice is just…man. I don’t know. And yeah, when he did Soul Sista that night, the place went wild. Beautiful song.

    Danielle,

    I’m so glad you appreciated the introduction. I’m new to the man myself, so I was hopeful that others might be as impressed as I was. I’m glad you agree the man is worthy of note!

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

 
