Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick, the Jena 6, and other issues

250px-detroitskyline.jpg 

Well, I think just maybe I’m back.

Yep. I’m certain of it. Here I is.

The absence? As I’ve mentioned to some of you, life happens. Enough said. I’m still here, it was nothing serious, and that means life is good. Moving on to some topics, because it has been such a long time since I’ve been in the water, it’s kinda hard to know where to start. So much has been going on, and I hate being repetitive of what I already know has been discussed inside out on other sites. But, well, what the hell. I’m just gonna let the brain roam for a few moments and maybe that’ll get me back in the flow.

And by the way, those of you who’ve been checking in on me? Thanks. Many thanks. Always good to be missed and checked in on. Beats the alternative.

Jena 6? Way too much already been said, and better than I could say it. But I will say this, because I can’t help myself, that it amuses me no end how this story broke as a major issue of discussion months and months ago in the black blogosphere. Then, suddenly, as is always the case, it is discovered by the mainstream and suddenly explodes into a national item. And hardly anybody in the Big League journalism stratosphere mentions this. Or if they did, I didn’t see it. I find this, well, amusing.

At this stage in my life I guess some of the stuff that used to really piss me off now only manages to amuse me at best. It really takes some serious South Africa-before-Mandela style stuff to get my blood running like lava anymore. Maybe I just don’t expect as much from the world anymore from when I used to be a lot more idealistic and hopeful, and that’s not good. I need to adjust that.

But before I leave the Jena 6, let me also add my voice to the chorus for justice. Yeah, I may be getting jaded in my old(er) age, but I will never stop shouting for what’s right.

And now on to…what’s that guy’s name? O’Riley? You know who. Older white guy looks like every other older white guy on the news channels. Only this older white guy is noticeably more ignorant. Said something about how surprised he was that there weren’t crack dealers slingin’ inside Sylvia’s Soul Food Restaurant in Harlem? That the people actually acted like normal people he had observed elsewhere in his obviously broad, expansive travels throughout the bushes in his own backyard?

Please refer to what I said above about being amused more frequently than enraged. The boy’s an idiot, and he’s being paid to be an idiot. Just like that other crazy older white guy with the cowboy hat. Don something.

Some folks are simply not worth remembering.

My own Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick? I’ve heard some folks, including good friends of mine, say they were glad he finally got what was coming to him, although they’re pissed about that $6 million plus that all us taxpayers are gonna be forced to ante up in legal fees. My question remains, “Where’s the proof?” That’s all I wanna know. And as for those who said he was whining when he openly criticized the makeup of the white (except for one black woman), all-suburban (except for one black Detroit woman) jury, I have a hard time understanding how this isn’t a relevant issue. Especially  in metro Detroit. Come on, y’all. Please. I’m just sayin’.

Yes, the Mayor certainly has his share of faults. No doubt. And no, not all Detroiters are enamored with the man. He did not exactly win in a landslide, although his victory exhibited a serious understanding of this city’s changing dynamic that his opponent completely overlooked. But still, despite the negatives, somebody else besides me has got to see at least a few of the good things this man has been doing. And somebody besides me has got to see how hard his detractors are working overtime to see to it that he gets all the blame and none of the credit. If you step back and just observe, this is really some fascinating stuff to behold.

The African World Festival needs to roll up the carpet and move its show over to the Charles Wright Museum for next year, and between now and then needs to remind itself why it’s called the African World. How many booths can sell the same damned Shea Butter? And be right next to each other? And the same goes for all those cheap sunglasses. And the cheap-looking purses that I saw repeatedly at one booth after another as if I was in a house of mirrors.  Do all the vendors now shop at the same one-size-fits-all outlet mall in Africa? Or is that located in Nebraska now?

Sorry. But I just remember the way it used to be.

The Detroit Jazz Festival this year? Off the chain. Phenomenal. Incrediable acts, all different kinds of jazz, spread out from Hart Plaza all the way up Woodward to Campus Martius. Weather was even beautiful. God bless Mack Avenue Records and her generously deep pockets. I’m in love.

Peace on Detroit.

~ by Keith A. Owens on September 30, 2007.

3 Responses to “Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick, the Jena 6, and other issues”

  1. Welcome home,hey I got a new take on Jena 6,set everyone free drop charges and deal with it as a educational matter (school)not a criminal matter,there’s law on the books.I grew up on the noth end and I’m now retired never ,I repeat never., had I seen new housing in that section of Detroit untill Dave Bing and the Mayor

  2. Tootsie,

    Thanks for the welcome home, my brother! Feels good to be back, for sure.

    I think your suggestion makes a lot of sense, too, because when you strip away the hype, this is definitely more of an issue for education than for the legal system.

  3. Kwame is a thug.

Leave a Reply

 
