The true definition of the word ‘service’

250px-detroitskyline.jpg 

What “service” really means…

At one time in my life, I thought I had a handle on the meaning of the word “service.” :
“It’s the act of doing things for other people.”
 
 
Then I heard these terms which reference the word SERVICE:
 
Internal Revenue Service
 
Postal Service
 
Telephone Service
 
Civil Service
 
City & County Public Service
 
Customer Service
 
Service Stations
 
 
Then…. I became confused about the word “service.” This is not  what I thought “service”  meant.

So today, I overheard two farmers talking, and one of them said he had hired a bull to “service”  a few of his cows.
 
BAM!  It all came into perspective. Now I understand what all those “service” agencies are doing to us.
 
I hope you now are as enlightened as I am.

~ by Keith A. Owens on June 28, 2007.

3 Responses to “The true definition of the word ‘service’”

  1. Good humor, now I get it as well!

  2. Perfect!!!!

  3. I don’t like paying for bad service.

Leave a Reply

 
