Intro to “A Musician in Detroit”

250px-detroitskyline.jpg 

I’ve been a working musician in this town for about 13 years, and without question most of my best Detroit stories are related to my life in the music. The history of Detroit music (which I promise to explore and talk about in more depth as time goes by) is beyond remarkable. It’s like I heard someone say once when asked, “How can so many great musicians come out of one place?”

“It’s in the water,” he said.

That’s probably as good an answer as any, although true students of the scene know the real explanation has much more to do with industry, manufacturing, immigration, integration, and friction fire.

I’ll leave it at that for now. This is the section where I finally get to unburden myself of all those Detroit music stories (and some Chicago ones too, just for good measure) that have been banging around my head for so long but have never had the chance to come out to play, except with a few friends. Now I can let you in on the madness..

~ by Keith A. Owens on March 17, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
